Ditching 300 blackout for 6.8?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ditching 300 blackout for 6.8?

I’m sure this has been beat to death at this point but I figured I’d ask anyway.

I’ve been killing hogs and coyotes for a couple years now with 300 blackout SBRs, 8.2” Noveske barrels to be exact. While I’ve been effective I just feel that the power isn’t there. I’m shooting a max load with 125 GR SST’s

Looking to learn about 6.8. It seems like the hardcore hog hunters are all just about shooting that round and doing so very effectively.

My normal hunting situation is typically about 150 yards or closer. I’m using suppressors and thermals and want to stay at as short a barrel as possible. I do reload.

I understand a barrel change, plus bolt, plus mag is all that really needs to be changed to convert to 6.8. What else?

Any and all knowledge would be appreciated. Where to source parts, etc.

If the gun shoots good and they are dead after you shoot, no need to be worried. I kill a bunch each year with 223 using the hornady soft point bullet that comes in a 50 round box. Hogs aren't as tough as people make them out to be.

Comment

I went from 6.8 to 300blk now I'm going to try the 6.5. I reload for everything so I don't care about ammo availability. 6.5 will be harder to find than 6.8 I was not very happy with my 6.8 and my 300blk sub/suppressed kills all but not over 100yrds. It is OK to own all of them

Comment

I shoot the 6.5 grendel. I started with this before the 6.8 came out. They are almost ballistically identical out to 300yds. If was choosing today I would go with the 6.8. I also like the .277 Wolverine (.223 bolt and mags) but that is way off the grid as of now.

The grendel has the recoil of a .223 with the knockdown power of a .243. I feel it is the perfect hunting caliber for all of Texas except South Texas and Mule Deer.

Comment