Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Im a Dang Rookie and Cant Do Anything Right!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Im a Dang Rookie and Cant Do Anything Right!

That's right! After 33 years of bowhunting, I don't have a clue! Long read so here we go!

There is a particular deer I have devoted my season to bow hunting. I know his life history and really like him. I have set for him at least 120 hours so far this season with multiple sightings and close calls including the rookie mistakes I made in the thread "A Living Nightmare!". Now that old buck has been MIA for a couple of weeks until five days ago. He showed back up looking like crap. probably lost 50lbs! He was hungry and was just living in my super secret corn pile. He would come in and out five or six times per hour. The problem was, he was getting back to my sanctuary every morning around 4 AM and camping in the corn.I had him patterned and all I needed was a North wind which I knew was coming Sunday night but also knew I had to be set up before he got home.

Monday(yesterday) morning, I parked a long way back and sneaked in perfectly in the moonlight. As I peeked over the tent blind, there was a big ol boar hog in my corn pile. Now I had a choice...I knew no deer were coming with him there so I had to wait for him to leave or shoot him. Now a quick mulling of that and I realized he was going nowhere until all my corn was gone so I knocked an arrow and turned the pin light on. SMACK! Right in the sweet spot and he charged out of there. I was in by 4am. I hunted till daybreak and at 7:04 I saw my shooter come out of my sanctuary about 100yds down and kept staring into the woods. I threw all my tricks at him but he eventually walked away toward one of my food plots and never came back.