Welder size and learning question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Welder size and learning question

I have been eyeing welders for a few years. I have never done it. I bought a book and read it years ago. I have watched all the videos. I have done everything except for running a machine. I currently do not have a need for one in my garage, but I want to get one anyway just to have. I have contacted the community college and I missed the fall class signup. Do I need to go to a class or will youtube teach me what I need to know?

I have an oxygen acetylene cutting torch and a welding tip on it. I have done brazing, cutting and stuck a few pieces of steel together with RG-45. I envision building a blind, maybe an expedition trailer and some general shop stuff. I think I would probably be using 1/4" wall tubing. I have seen the cheap welding tables at harbor freight and I think they would work for me. Ideally I would like to buy a machine that can last 25 years.

I am considering the Lincoln 140, Lincoln 180 and the Miller 211. The Miller is awfully pricey for something I will not use very often. I have a 230V plug in my garage so I can do the 180. I have AMEX points so I would prefer the Lincoln from Home Depot.

I guess my question is what can I do with the 180 that I cant with the 140? I would hate to have to upgrade down the road. Is the Miller that much better than the Lincoln 180? I really like the dual voltage input on the Miller. My next house may not have 230 in the garage and in case I had to take it to a friend's house they may not have it either.

I know there are a ton of yall on here that weld. Thanks

I know the duty cycle on the 140 is going to be shorter, but that might not make any difference with what you're talking about. I don't think there is much if anything other than that. Good luck man!

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Comment