Input needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Input needed

Hoping to get some solid input on this. I have been scouting a nice buck for a couple months. A few evenings ago, one of the guys I hunt with stuck the deer. It was about 10 minutes before legal shooting hours were up, and a crossbow shot at around 20 yards. Guy said the deer didn’t act hit, he thought that he missed. Said the deer walked to a tree line about 50 yards from the location of the shot. Deer stood there for about 10 minutes and then ran away when the ATV arrived to pick up him up. Said the deer never jumped or kicked or really did anything to make him think he hit it. The crossbow bolt was very clean. Had a couple pieces of hair (Not sure if it was white or brown) and very faint, almost not noticeable blood on the shaft and fletching. Basically the arrow was very clean and without really looking, you wouldn’t know it was a hit. Here is where I really get lost on this. We found a pool of bright red frothy blood near the tree line he ran to and stoped. It was about the size of a softball, little larger. I immediately though it was lung blood. However, all the blood we found after that was not frothy at all. It was also not constant, we would find small pools where he appeared to stop briefly and it was clearly hitting the ground straight down from the deer, not spurting out to either side. The blood was brighter red, not dark. In all, we did not find enough blood to assume he bled out. Also, the deer traveled at least 800 plus yards to exit our field. I believe he traveled onto another property where he beds. I say that because most the deer we see come from that heavily wooded property to our food source.