Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recommendations for loose nocks on string?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recommendations for loose nocks on string?

My serving is pretty worn down from shooting, and wanted to ask everyone whether you just redo the serving or use quick fixes? I've heard people say they use dental floss, but are there other tricks out there to fix this issue?

Couple wraps of tape will help till you can get it fixed

Comment

I've never tried this before, but it seems like you could boil some water, stick the ends of the nocks in there to heat up, then kind of push them together until they cool off. Then they'll be a little tighter. I wouldn't stick them all the way in, though, or it might loosen the glue holding them on. I'd just stick them in there deep enough heat up the little wings.

Or you could wrap an extra layer of serving on your string.

Comment

Buy a new string. I've had a nock slip off before I shot. Basically a dry fire. Broke the handle. Massive string slap buster on my arm. Just buy a new string

Comment

Get it re-served

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

Comment

It ain't no joke when it slides off the string at full draw with a broadhead on there.

Comment

Heat knocks and shape while warm. It will work.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

I’m in the “reserve the string” crowd. Very easy to do yourself once you learn how. Or, not to expensive to have a shop do it. It’s best to learn how yourself though.

Bisch

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

Reserve. Then you can inspect the string strands under the serving to ensure the string is still in good shape. When strings break they tend to happen at the high stress area at the string nock.

Comment

Thank you all. Reserving the string is what I was leaning towards, so i think i'm going to go that route and learn it.

Comment

Originally posted by Duckologist View Post
                      Get it re-served