Cedar or Aluminum?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cedar or Aluminum?

I have been shooting razorcaps on aluminum arrows with the Hoyt recurve I have now.. I am about to get a Bob Lee, and am considering cedar arrows with two blade broadheads..
    What do you shoot, and why?

I have been shooting wood for about 17 years.Why?No other reason other than I like em.I have just bought some carbons for my longbow and can say they do shoot good,but I also shoot a selfbow and would never shoot anything other than wood with it,because anything else would be sacreligious

Comment

Carbons, Carbons, Carbons. I have shot them all. Good wood is hard to find. I try and make my own woodies and I'd say out of about 30 arrows I usually get 6 good shooters. Aluminum is very consistent, but bend easy. IMO carbon is the way to go. Very consistent arrow to arrow and tough as hell.....

Comment

I didn't realize you could shoot carbon with a traditional bow.. Now, two blades or four?

Comment

I personally like 2 blade heads but that is just because I can get em cheap and I finally learned a system for sharpening them that works well.

Comment

Do I put feather fletching on the carbon arrows?

Comment

Goldtips 35/55

Easton 2016s

2 blade Magnus

Why? The shafts seem to be close to the spine I need and the broadheads are available at Academy at a good price.

Comment

ArtisticWildlife

Feather fletching should be used on all arrows shot traditional. Shield cut 5" is my favorite.

Comment

Gold tip 35/55's weighted up to 9grn's per pound of draw weight, 5" feathers with a twist should get you going and are tuff enough to last as you practice.

Comment