Tips for a newbie?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tips for a newbie?

I just bought a Horne's Archery Bushbow and wondered if you folks could offer any newbie tips.

Been hitting my bag at around 12 yds today, no misses yet! Going to shoot off and on today as long as the sun shines.

Don't wear yourself out. You can develop bad habits/form.

Comment

Bill, back when I was a newbie,I read the book Instintive shooting by Fred G Asbell.It really helped me.He says to start out real close,like 3-5 yards and concentrate real hard on the exact spot you want to hit.After you master that then take a couple steps back and repeat.The only thing I will add is concentrate on your form FIRST,and do the above.If you have form and then add repetition you WILL GET BETTER.

Comment

I am probably not the one to offer shooting tips, as I have just come in from seaching for an arrow in the back yard...but I still may have something to suggest.

I agree with what was said above, shoot often but don't make the sessions too long. If you start getting tired you will not shoot well and your form will go bad.

Start short and train yourself to hit the bull, build confidance before moving back.

Make sure you are getting good arrow flight, if your equipment is not matched it will be very hard to improve.

invest in a metal detector for searching for lost arrows.

shoot with friends that are good shooters and let them help with your form.

the release is where my form normally goes bad first (of course it has lots of company) my bow hand likes to get a death grip when it is his turn to screw me up.

Never bet with these guys Buff, Broken Arrow, Tradag, Thumper, to name a few.

I could go on and on, but have used my band width for this log on....good luck.

Comment

Thanks for the tips. I have already learned a thing or two today just reading around here. I know I have learned how weak I am.