Announcement

Collapse

TBH Maintenance

Ongoing TBH Website maintenance this evening. Your TBH visit may not be optimal during this service window.
See more
See less

Recurve vs long bow.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recurve vs long bow.

What is your favorite and why?

recurve easier for me to shoot

Comment

Originally posted by mpotts View Post
      recurve easier for me to shoot
      Because of length, riser design, shelf design, forgiveness???

Comment

So far a recurve; because I haven't found a longbow that feels as good as my widow recurve.

Comment

And there in lies my need for answers. I really like the look of the Widow PSR and PL series but that is a chunk to drop on one not knowing which I prefer. I have limited experience with recurves so I'm fishing.

Comment

So far for me it's a recurve but that's because the longbow I'm trying out (thank you SwampRabbit!) has such terrible hand shock that I wince when I try to shoot it. I'd like a longbow at some point as I hear they are more forgiving but right now nothing beats my cheap little Sage.

Richard.

Comment

I shoot a longbow that has a pistol grip or Recurve style handle! The shelf is cut 3/16 past center (Center shot) so I can easily shoot a variety of arrows as long as they are stiff enough for the bow.

Comment

Let me throw the curve ball. I am usually a recurve guy, and I think one of the best feeling recurves in my hand is the 70's Grizzly... HOWEVER> I have a longbow getting made currently and have a demo bow from the bowyer. It's SWEET! I typically prefer the slightly higher wrist of most recurves, but do not like a real high wrist set. I don't like to point at the target with my thumb and hand flat. I have been wanting a flat grip longbow, very low wrist, and NO locator, so I am having one made and the demo I am shooting is exactly like I wanted. Hard to say if it is just this one design, but sure feels good in the mit.

Comment