Elbow pain?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Elbow pain?

I started having elbow pain shortly after I started shooting trad bows. I shoot on average 50x a day. The more I shoot the worse the pain gets. Feels like a tendon attachment on the outside of my elbow. Any one else experience trouble like this?

which elbow?

Comment

If the pain most severe over the bump on the outside of your elbow and is worse when you straighten your arm, it is most likely "tennis elbow" which is also common in archers. I had a bout with this a few years ago. After talking to a doctor I hung the bow up and did not shoot again until the pain went away which was 2-3 weeks. Continuing to shoot will make it worse - you have to let the inflammation and those micro tears heal. When you start shooting again try wearing a tennis elbow band for a while. I did and I'm not sure how much it helped but it can't hurt. Look up exercises for tennis elbow on the internet

Comment

Originally posted by jerp View Post
        If the pain most severe over the bump on the outside of your elbow and is worse when you straighten your arm, it is most likely "tennis elbow" which is also common in archers. I had a bout with this a few years ago. After talking to a doctor I hung the bow up and did not shoot again until the pain went away which was 2-3 weeks. Continuing to shoot will make it worse - you have to let the inflammation and those micro tears heal. When you start shooting again try wearing a tennis elbow band for a while. I did and I'm not sure how much it helped but it can't hurt. Look up exercises for tennis elbow on the internet
        That's exactly where it hurts. Right elbow on draw arm. Just gonna shoot thru the pain till I kill one with my recurve. Not going to let a little pain ruin my mission. I was just curious as to whether it was common. I have never had elbow trouble shooting a compound.

Comment