Which recurve for a rookie??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which recurve for a rookie??

I have been shooting compound bow for a few years now and want to switch over to a recurve. What are some good choices for my first purchase? The only recurve I have shot is a superjet 3350 lol. Any info will help. Thanks

Samick Sage is a great starter bow. You can buy the bow new for under $150. This is an inexpensive way to start out with a manageable lower weight to learn with. You can also get heavier limbs when you are ready for about $75. If you do get a new Sage, get a replacement Flemish twist string for it. The stock strings are doodoo!

If you catch the trad bug, you will move up into customs and be able to sell the Sage for not too much of a loss.

Bisch

Comment

I'm with bisch. I happen to have some other bows of my dads and granddads. But if I was starting out with nothing I'd buy a sage.

Search "3 piece takedown" on here. One guy was selling his and some extra's I believe for about 200. Don't remember everything it had

Comment

3 votes for the Samick Sage - you can easily get what you need from Lancaster Archery Supply - they've usually got a good stock on hand. Just remember you're going to need a lot lower weight than you use on your compound - I'd suggest 35# - there is no let off and no sight, so you want something you can hold for 3 to 5 seconds without having your draw hand start to either shake or creep forward.

Comment

Originally posted by Fuzzy Dog View Post
          3 votes for the Samick Sage - you can easily get what you need from Lancaster Archery Supply - they've usually got a good stock on hand. Just remember you're going to need a lot lower weight than you use on your compound - I'd suggest 35# - there is no let off and no sight, so you want something you can hold for 3 to 5 seconds without having your draw hand start to either shake or creep forward.