Hunt while sitting/standing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hunt while sitting/standing?

Just trying to get a consensus…I missed several opportunities to shoot a doe this morning because i was trying to stand up from a sitting position in my tree stand to actually be able to shoot lol! my safety strap kept getting caught.

How many of you hunt sitting down or standing?

Well, I am pretty new to this, but I shoot sitting down and have practiced it that way. I cut my shooting lanes and set my stands to accomidate for it. I have drawn and shot out of a ground blind (sitting) and out of a ladder stand (sitting.) The only time I have drawn and shot on an animal standing was during a stalk.

Comment

If I ever get the opportunity to shoot at something it will be sitting down. I usually practise from a sitting position quite a bit.

Comment

Your strap or your harness?

Strap should be overhead...harness should be tight enough it doesn't hang anything

Comment

I shoot both but standing is preferred but rarely happens

Comment

Originally posted by swamprabbit View Post
            well, i am pretty new to this, but i shoot sitting down and have practiced it that way. I cut my shooting lanes and set my stands to accomidate for it. I have drawn and shot out of a ground blind (sitting) and out of a ladder stand (sitting.) the only time i have drawn and shot on an animal standing was during a stalk.

Comment

I sit.. I have my stand turned perpendicular to my feeder just for this purpose. If your face is facing what you want to shoot without turning your neck its just about impossible to shoot. I think that makes since.

Comment

sitting

Comment

I shoot standing. I usually hear pigs coming before I see them so ill stand up. Sometimes a single pig will slip in close so I just wait till it starts feeding and then ill stand.