Odd Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Odd Question

I'll start by saying I've been shooting bows now for 31 years, trad gear off and on and now I'm hooked solid with my Sarrels! My question is a "why " question, when practicing if I shoot dots I am less accurate than when I shoot my 3d targets, every time and has been that way for year's, also if I use only 1 arrow my practice sessions are always without a doubt better, I never do as well shooting arrow after arrow in the same position. Does anyone else experience this?

I can't tell you why 3D;s are better than dots but I can tell you probably why one at a time is better than groups. With one at a time you are making yourself rest between shots. When you shoot 4 or 5 arrows in a row most everybady (including me) shoots too fast and you muscles do not have time to rest between shots. This shows up as less accurate shooting.

Bisch

Comment

I am the same way with bows and rifles. When I go for a steel plate I can get amazing groups but put a piece of paper up. I think it is because when shooting a 3d you are relaxed and not trying to force it into a little area. When aiming at a dot you tend to make yourself uncomfortable for the "perfect" shot

Comment

I shoot better on 3D. I think, because, I am more interested in animals than spots, therefore my concentration is better.

I agree about Bisch's theory
        About one shot at a time.

Comment

One arrow practice is slower, and more deliberate, which lends itself to better focus/concentration.

3D objects are easier to focus on, than a spot on a flat surface. Don't know why. Even shooting at a ball (like a golf ball, or tennis ball) I will shoot more accurately than when I shoot at a flat spot of the same size at the same distance.

Rick

Comment