copper hollow point bullets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

copper hollow point bullets

what are your thoughts on all copper hollowpoints? I am looking for some good .45 hollowpoints and I know golddot is the gold standard in self defense bullets. but it looks like these barnes all copper bullets expand better, retain 100% of their weight and penetrate farther. Is this marketing or is there some truth to their claims.

If not what is the best Hollow-point to use in a .45. I have an idea that it is probably a ford/Chevy argument and any reputable brand is as good as any other.

Thanks

I'm no expert by any means, I carry what I'm issued, which has been gold dot until this year, when I got some Winchester pdx1. Again, I'm no expert, but here is my opinion:

I want adequate penetration and expansion, but i don't want over-penetration. My thoughts are, off my bullet penetrates enough to hit a vital organ, that's all I need. I don't want my bullets to come out the back of my target and hit an innocent bystander. I don't know if these solid copper bullets would do that or not, but gold dots have been the proven standard for years.

Comment

Originally posted by txfireguy2003 View Post
      I'm no expert by any means, I carry what I'm issued, which has been gold dot until this year, when I got some Winchester pdx1. Again, I'm no expert, but here is my opinion:

I want adequate penetration and expansion, but i don't want over-penetration. My thoughts are, off my bullet penetrates enough to hit a vital organ, that's all I need. I don't want my bullets to come out the back of my target and hit an innocent bystander. I don't know if these solid copper bullets would do that or not, but gold dots have been the proven standard for years.