Working up a load

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working up a load

This weekend I've been working up a new load for my 7mm Weatherby Mag. (Mark V) that I plan to use on my upcoming desert bighorn hunt. I've never used Hodgdon H1000 powder before, but after researching different powders I settled on that one to try. It's one of Hodgdon's Extreme powders that is supposed to be stable across a wide range of temperature extremes. My hunt may end up being in July in the desert, so I figured that powder might work well.

I've never used Nosler AccuBond bullets either. I've always used Partitions and had great results, but I've heard and read good things about the AccuBonds. I like the higher ballistic coefficient as well. So I loaded up some 140gr AccuBonds.

The Hodgdon data shows minimum of 75gr of H1000 and a max load of 79gr. I loaded 3 rounds each from 75 to 79 grains in 1/2 grain increments. 75 grain load sucked - 2"+ triangle. Other loads were decent with groups from 1.25 - 1.5". But the 77gr load was awesome. Three shots in one hole at 100 yards. For this particular rifle, I found the right recipe. Just gotta load up the rest of the brass now. Sheep beware!

I think I'll work up a load with H1000 and AccuBonds for my .240 Weatherby next to see if I can find one that will group as well for it.

I run Retumbo and 200 grain Accubonds in my .300 ultra. I get good grouping out of it. Heart shot and deer walked away 30-40 yards. Never had that issue with Partitions. Great shooting bullets anyways. 350 yard doe
    Attached Files

Comment

Great post! The load is critical to tight groups and every rifle is different. As a matter of fact, after a barrel gets broke in good, it might like a slightly hotter load.

Every thing we load in 7mm likes a 140gr seirra best. Of course it is hard to beat that group!

Comment

Retumbo is another good powder in the big burners but looks like you found a good combination.

Comment