Over/Under Shotgun question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Over/Under Shotgun question

My son is graduating high school in a few weeks and he's been getting some graduation money. He wants to buy an over/under 20ga. I have no experience with these guns, but after a quick internet search I see they range in price from $500 to over $10,000

What are some brands you recommend he look into? His budget is up to about $1500 or so.

I have not shot one, but I would really like to own a Franchi Instinct. Every one I have handled has fit me very well and they seem to be made well.

Comment

Get him down to a good gun shop that has a bunch on the shelf...don't overlook the used market.

I would get a sporting model over a traditional field.

Comment

I have a .410 Stevens 555E that is a pretty sweet shooter they are made by Savage.

Comment

I’d get a used citori, beretta, or Ruger red label. Should be able to find a used 686 in the 1500 range or any of the others. I’d personally go used over new.

Comment

Cant go wrong with a Browning Citori.

Comment

Whatever you choose, be sure it fits him. Shotgun fit is very important because it’s usually a fast mount and shoot, no time to settle in like rifle shooting. For instance, a Browning field grade fits me very well, the sporting model does not. I can’t hit the broad side of a barn with a Beretta, as much as I’d like to. My Beretta auto loader fits me fine, as do all Remingtons and most others. The fit is in the stock !