Teach me about inline muzzle loaders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Teach me about inline muzzle loaders

Need to buy a budget friendly muzzleloader. Seems i can get a pretty decent one for $500 or under. I have wiggle room on the price and can go up but I honesty dont want the best out there but want to find somehting that will serve me well. Kinda like an entry level savage or tikka compared to rimfire. There are alot of better and prettier guns out there but they will definitely shoot well enough to hunt with just may not be competition ready out of the box. After this hunt it will probably sit in the safe for years until i draw another if ever tag. I am looking for accurate at 100 yards to be a kill shot. If i can get further thats awesome.

My background is pretty decent with centerfire as ive shot pistol and rifle competitions and Im conformable reloading/developing loads for a centerfire rifle gun. I know very little about muzzleloader and have never shot one.

What gun would you buy? im leaning towards a CVA optima in my limited research. Good all around powder and bullet to start with? I know cleaning is key as theyyl rust easy. whats your favorite cleaning product.

I shoot 777 powder and clean with pure ammonia. Take the action out of the stock, remove bolt and breechplug. Stick the end of the barrel in a bucked with ammonia and start swabbing. Once the swab get wet it will suck the cleaner up into the barrel. When finished rinse with hot water, let dry then oil inside and out. Clean the bolt and breechplug wit a toothbrush

Comment

CVA Optima is a great gun. Nice trigger, accurate, easy removeable breach plug. You can’t go wrong with that choice. I used to shoot an Encore, now have an Optima, and I would not go back. I use White Hots and Powerbelts, but there are plenty of good powders and bullets to try.

Comment

Originally posted by Drycreek3189 View Post