WY Antelope Hunt advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WY Antelope Hunt advice

I will be heading to Wyoming in October for my first ever antelope hunt. Never been to or hunted WY either. Looking for any advice. I will be going with a buddy who has hunt there many times over his life, but I wan’t to tap the GS for outside knowledge. It will be area 23. Forgive me, but this will be a rifle hunt.

The WY Fish and Game web site and booklet are far harder to navigate than TPWD.

Thanks in advance.

Are you hunting a private ranch or public? Get a GPS chip to show land ownership.

Watch out for thorns if you try crawling up on a stalk.

I was looking at that unit to buy a leftover tag but it just looked to hard to find access on public. Ive never been to that area so I didnt want to go in blind.

Ill be going up to Casper in November.

Comment

I've been doing a lot of research myself for the 2015 season. BLM maps seem to be your best option if you don't have a GPS to download maps on it. Can be bought off the WY fish and game website. I noticed the more time I spent on their website the easier it was to navigate it Chocks of hidden info on that website!

NW of the unit seems to hold a lot of public land. I would love to hear a trip report from you since I'll be hunting in the same area in NE wyoming and would like to know the road consitions, weather, hunting pressure, etc. Good luck!

Comment

Are you specifically bow hunting or are you taking a rifle too?

Comment

Originally posted by Bear82 View Post
          Are you hunting a private ranch or public? Get a GPS chip to show land ownership.

Watch out for thorns if you try crawling up on a stalk.

I was looking at that unit to buy a leftover tag but it just looked to hard to find access on public. Ive never been to that area so I didnt want to go in blind.

Ill be going up to Casper in November.