Treestands on Public Land

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Treestands on Public Land

Since I'm new to the public land hunting thing I'm curious as to how you guys hunt with treestands. When do you set them up? I know some places have limits such as 72 hours to setup and retrieve. Would it just be easier to buy a climbing stand and backpack it in? Also how do you pick where to setup? I've been way too spoiled with having a lease and my brain is ceasing to function on the thought process.

You cant use anything that will damage the tree on public land i.e. nails, screw in steps etc. You will either need a set of climbing sticks or a climber stand. Climber stand is convenient as long as you have a good tree. As for the spot, your preseason scouting should dictate that. Hope that helps. Happy hunting!

Comment

I use a 12' lightweight ladder stand w wheels on it. It's not bad rolling in/out, very easy to set up & safe. Has also doubled as a game cart before

Comment

Originally posted by basscast View Post
        I use a 12' lightweight ladder stand w wheels on it. It's not bad rolling in/out, very easy to set up & safe. Has also doubled as a game cart before
        Wheels !! what a great idea. This sounds like a good set up !

Comment

I currently have a 15' ladder stand and it is not lightweight. A friend of mine has a climbing stand but to be honest I don't know that I trust those. Just seems sketchy to me. May have to break down and get one though.

Comment

If you get a climber you have to find a almost perfectly straight tree I got rid of mine bought a light hang on with aluminum sticks

Comment

Originally posted by El suave View Post
              If you get a climber you have to find a almost perfectly straight tree I got rid of mine bought a light hang on with aluminum sticks