Newb to Public Hunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newb to Public Hunting

Hi Fellas, While I'm not new to hunting (overall) I am new to the public lands side of it. I used to hunt as a kid with my uncles and always used their leases. Now that I'm picking it back up I dont want to take the plunge on a lease yet so I'm looking at the public lands aspect of it.

Here's my understanding. Once I purchase my hunting license I can also purchase an annual public land permit. That said, it appears that with that you get most areas but not all. From what I can gather, there are specific areas that are done by lottery. How is the lottery held is my question? Is it everyone that enters per year has an equal chance? Or, do those that carried the permit from the previous year take precedence over the newbs?

Any clarification would be greatly appreciated...

It is my understanding that every year you apply, but do not win you acquire points essentially. Eventually your card gets picked, but it may take a while. I may be wrong on this though

Comment

Not to sure on the lottery but if your ever wanting to get together I can show you a couple spots on a wma near your neck of the woods and we can get you on some deer.

Comment

Have not done the type 2 in years. When did they start a lottery?
        As far as I know you get the book with your permit and it has all the property mapped out.
        One thing is for sure. Get out there and scout before you go hunt.

Comment

Originally posted by Southernboy View Post
          Not to sure on the lottery but if your ever wanting to get together I can show you a couple spots on a wma near your neck of the woods and we can get you on some deer.
          wma? Im down for scouting and hunting a few areas that anyone can shed some light on..

Comment

Originally posted by Tomkat07 View Post
            Have not done the type 2 in years. When did they start a lottery?