New to public land hunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to public land hunting

Okay I am new to this, so I will try to keep this somewhat educated or at least sound like I know what I am kind of talking about after having researched this for a few years.

So there obviously is Public Hunting and Draws. And these can happen on WMA's, at COE's, and even Private Lands via the special draws etc, so there are multiple ways to do a public hunt???

So I would like to try hunting public areas. So lets say hypothetically I complete my hunting application for a COE (I live in Collin County) So lets say Lewisville, Grapevine, or Lavon or something like that? or maybe I drive to LBJ grasslands to hunt? Having never hunted public lands, how does this work? You have your map provided by COE or WMA to know the areas aloud for hunting, and you're following all the rules of course, orange man suite, etc... its not like you just go walk the property till you find a spot you wish to hunt? is it?

I would hate to walk past someones tree stand, or whatever? I mean allot of people here have hunted these areas for quite some time? So how do I avoid possibly walking even 50 yards from someones spot?

Thanks, (edited and reduced to be easy on the eyes!)

Heck
    Last edited by Heckmonkey; 06-20-2012, 07:11 PM.

Originally posted by Heckmonkey View Post
    Okay I am new to this, so I will try to keep this somewhat educated or at least sound like I know what I am kind of talking about after having researched this for a few years.

So there obviously is Public Hunting and Draws. And these can happen on WMA's, at COE's, and even Private Lands via the special draws etc, so there are multiple ways to do a public hunt???