Standby question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Standby question

I’ve been playing the TPWD drawn hunt game for about 30 years. I was always under the impression—granted, possibly wrong impression—that standby was only available for drawn permits that weren’t paid by the deadline. If, that particular hunt area offers standby.

Last week I spoke on the phone with a hunt manager for a hunt that my son and I were drawn for. The hunt is next week. We paid prior to the deadline, all good.

My son cannot make the hunt due to his work schedule. I am confirmed to go. I shared this with the hunt manager on the phone and he said he would offer up my son’s paid spot for standby.

I didn’t want to question him and risk pissing him off.

So, my question is, can paid spots for no shows be offered up for standby?

Thanks in advance.

Yes they can. They have a quota they’re trying to fill and if someone doesn’t show up, they will (and should) let someone who wants to hunt, hunt it.

Just out of curiosity, are you against that happening? And if so, what’s the reasoning?

Comment

The biologists that run those WMA hunts can pretty much do what they want up to a point if the animals are there to hunt.

Comment

10-4. Thanks for the responses.

Comment

Every place has their own d@mn set of rules, some will not offer standbys no matter what even if no drawn hunters show, some will only offer standbys if drawn hunters confirm they won't make the hunt, and others will give drawn hunters spots away to standby if you miss the check in/orientation time the first day of the hunt. One place in particular I hunted if you weren't in the gate by 10am sharp they locked it and you were SOL, one drawn guy showed up 30 minutes late and called the hunt manager wanting in, they told him to drive home, the area was closed for the hunt.

Comment

Originally posted by SC-001 View Post