Matador WMA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Matador WMA

I got drawn for archery deer oct 16-20. I have zero knowledge of matador or hunting this part of Texas. I know it’s going to be a hard hunt with a bow. I’m thinking I will just pitch a tent in the primitive area to keep from having to drive to town. If anybody has any info or advice I would greatly appreciate it. This is my first draw hunt so I will take any advice you have.
    Starts
    08-28-2023
    Ends
    08-28-2023

I've been drawn once for Matador and have been dying to get drawn again. It's an awesome place to hunt. I went, with my son, on the anterless/spike hunt in December 2017. It was windy and warm for December. Our hunt was cut short due to some stuff that came up so we didn't fill any tags but saw a ton of sign in the OX compartment. If you are assigned the OX, there's a water tank on the northeast side (if memory serves me well) that I would sit at.

Here's some more threads about Matador:

https://www.google.com/search?q=texa...site:discussio ns.texasbowhunter.com&sca_esv=560664892&rlz=1C1GTP M_enUS1043US1045&sxsrf=AB5stBgN0UMlbOoeczmj0qE1DLj rCgvRug:1693241503554&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiM-NmS6P-AAxXPlmoFHeHCB6oQrQIoBHoECBkQBQ&biw=1920&bih=923&d pr=1#ip=1​

Comment

Try a predator call for mulies if the are an option. It has been a long time since we hunted there, but we called in over 30 does plus about a dozen small bucks. Bigger bucks would stand but did not offer shots. The smaller bucks that came in we decided not too shoot. Some of the does dang near ran over us. Use the call, loud and long. They think a fawn is in distress. Good luck. There are some trophies on that 26,000 acres!

Comment

See ya there! I think I have decided to tent camp as well. Just adds to the adventure of it.

Comment

Thanks guys.

Comment