Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hunter Orange on Public Lands

Hi All,

I am new to Texas and have read that hunter orange is required for Archers hunting public land when a gun season is also open. I found this a bit strange, but rules are rules. I was just wondering if this group has any interaction with the State or if there is a state bow hunters association that actively lobbies TPWD and Legislature in support of issues important to bow hunters.

As an aside, I only hunt public land and have been doing so since I was a young buck. I enjoy the challenge and have been fortunate to have harvested many animals from these lands.

Welcome to the site.You are looking for the Lonestar Bowhunters Association,LSBA for short.

DJ

Comment

You can be on the public lands hunting pigs after the deer rifle season and there is no other season and "supposedly" don't have to wear your hunter orange. But i would wear it no matter what.

Go to http://www.lonestarbowhunter.com That will be very helpful also.

Comment

Limb rat season is open so you have to wear it. Dont forget you have to have a hat also.....400inches including the hat ...I think

Comment

LBJ/Caddo rules state hunter orange isn't required during archery season and does not list the other gun season stipulation as in the TPWD handbook

Comment

I am not sure I would hunt public land during gun season without it on. There are way too many "shoot first ask questions later" types on public land.

Comment

Sommerville both vest and hat hunter orange. Welcome to the site.

Comment

you aren't kidding. I was out at LBJ last year fishing and sounded like WWIII and that was in Dec. I can't even imagine opening weekend

Originally posted by Okiehunter View Post
                I am not sure I would hunt public land during gun season without it on. There are way too many "shoot first ask questions later" types on public land.

Comment