Buying a camera...questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buying a camera...questions

So, I'm a newbie when it comes to digital photography...used to shoot a lot of 35mm film. Looking for a nice entry level camera and lenses to shoot outdoors and my sons soccer games. Looking at the Nikon D3200...good, bad, indifferent? Thanks!

Good camera, but what you really need to decide is what your priorities are. I'd never buy a 3200 personally because they are aimed at the soccer moms who know nothing about how to work an actual camera. I want more control at my fingertips than that body will offer. It also won't work with older MF Nikon lenses, while many of the older pro and prosumer bodies (like the D200, D300) will. The D200 and D300 will be faster (frames/sec.) too.

The 3200 has the newest sensor and software, so the IQ 'may' be slightly better, but you're limited in lens selection and it's a slower overall body with less control. Nikon geared the 3200 toward users who were looking for the green box auto or one of the cartoon-like picture modes on the dial.

Not that it isn't capable of taking great photos. It certainly is. I'm just thinking if you've worked a real film camera for any length of time, that 3200 would feel like a toy before long and you'd get frustrated with it.

I had a D200 for a while that I was very happy with. I used older manual focus Nikon lenses on it and took some of my best photos (nature, sports and wildlife) with it.

Just food for thought. The D200's and even the D300's are going dirt cheap these days.

Comment

Thanks for the info, brother! I'll keep that in mind. Shoulda mentioned that my wife is wanting to be able to use it as well...

Comment

I have a D3100 and it does pretty good. I'm a newbie myself so I don't really know what I'm missing with a pro body. I'm getting some good lenses slowly and may upgrade the body later on.

Comment