Photo shop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Photo shop

Maybe I'm looking at it wrong but isn't using photo shop like cheating by doctoring up your photos? I'm new to photography I would like to learn from my bad photos instead of just fixing them. I maybe wrong about how photo shop works.

Where is Oatmeal, Texas ??

Comment

Originally posted by laredoarcher View Post
      Where is Oatmeal, Texas ??
      East of round rock.

Comment

Serious photographers in the film days had dark rooms where they developed their own photos. They dodged and burned and varied the chemicals and film types and used filters on their lenses and did everything else they could dream up in order to achieve the look that they wanted in their photos. It's nothing new.

Digital cameras don't capture light on film negatives. They capture raw data on a computer sensor. That data has to be processed to look good, very similar to film processing in many ways. Digital cameras all have built-in processors that adjust sharpness, contrast, saturation, etc. In-camera processors are the equivalent of the old 1-hour processing places for film. They're fast, but they don't give you the best quality results. To get the best results, you need to do a more thorough job of processing.

Obviously, Photoshop and other programs give you the ability to alter an image in MAJOR ways, if you want to - way beyond the capabilities of film processing in a dark room. But just because you use a computer program to process your photos, it doesn't mean that you have stopped being a photographer and have become a digital artist or whatever. If you want to create digital art, knock yourself out. As long as you're not a journalist who is creating images that are not real and then claiming that they are real images to back up one of your stories, then you're good. Go as crazy as you want to with digital creativity.