No Rye Grass suggested

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No Rye Grass suggested

With fall food plotting coming soon, I thought this might get some conversation going and so maybe some experts might join in. I am no expert, But I will start, I like a good conversation When most here talk of rye they are talking rye cereal and not rye grass. Deer are not grass eaters !! Rye grass looks good in the winter when most plants are down and brown. But, I will say it again, Deer are not grass eaters. It looks great to some deer hunters when rye grass is all green and there are deer tracks in the grass. But in all my reading (years of reading) from wildlife biologist, deer do not feed on grass, UNLESS they are starving!! I read once, yrs ago, where in Mississippi, in heavy tree farming areas, where little sunlight hits the ground and little to no native plants would grow, the deer would feed on rye grass because the deer were starving. So, here you go, anyone want to add to this Pop corn anyone

Great topic and question.... Looking forward to learning from this one.....

Comment

Elbon rye, wheat and oats for me.
      I only figured out the elbon rye in the last few years
      Not always easy to find

Been planting oat hunting plots since a kid with my dad.

Comment

Interesting way of putting it.

I don't do food plots due to hunting in cattle country but the rancher drills about 15-20 acres of oats in his hay fields and there's more and more wild clover every year with the recent mild / wet winters.

So by definition, they do eat leafy plants; oats, beans, corn, clover etc...some of those listed such as corn are only when emerging so basically a forbe; leafy plants...but not grass.