Thoughts on no till drill?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thoughts on no till drill?

For context: We've always used the conventional method (discing, spraying, planting, spraying and fertilizing) for planting our 14 acre food plot in milo and oats. Its getting quite expensive to do all of that just for a food plot. I recently started reading about using no till drills and a crimper on food plots and how well they work, but I'm skeptical.

I'm wanting to know if any of y'all have thoughts or opinions on using no till drills, or have any experience with the process.

Here is a link to one of Grant Woods' videos in East Texas. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNHK...GrowingDeer.tv
    Last edited by DoubleSplitG2; 12-09-2023, 10:31 AM.

I’ve been using a Land Pride APS1572 “overseeder” for several years for food plots and winter pasture for my cows, and it does a really good job. I also do food plots for a couple local leases, and they’ve been happy for the 3 years I’ve worked for them.
    I’ve put out close to 30k pounds of seed with it.

Comment

I’m with you. I’ve been watching Grant Woods videos. I think it would work but the upfront cost is high. Also you need to get predictable rain which rules me out in west TX.

Comment

Do you overseed on top of the existing weeds and grasses with the Land Pride? Or do you still have to conventional method?

I've also watched several of Grant Woods' videos. The idea of reducing labor and costs while improving soil quality is very enticing. But i agree, its hard to bite with the price point of this equipment.

Comment

No till is a lot less work and quicker for sure and if you got funds to get one it’s a no brainer.

Comment

Originally posted by DoubleSplitG2 View Post
            Do you overseed on top of the existing weeds and grasses with the Land Pride? Or do you still have to conventional method?