Argh...Walkback tuning fail

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Argh...Walkback tuning fail

So I'm new to bow hunting. Acquired a used bow and am quickly learning everything I can about bow hunting (I say learning, my wife says becoming obsessed). Previously I'd occasionally be off of my aiming point by a little bit (an inch or so), and chalked that up to using new muscles, not being steady, inconsistent anchor points, and the array of misc. things that could plague a new shooter.

Last week I noticed I wasn't shooting accurately anymore. I mean off by 3-4". I came across a youtube video that talks about getting your bow level horizontally, and then vertically, and then doing walk back at 20/30/40,etc.

I was successful at putting them on a line horizontally, but really really struggling with vertical. I would be dead on the center line I made out of electrical tape, and it would be 4" to the left. So I messed with the sight box some left and some right, to try to see how to correct it. Nothing seemed to be giving me consistent results.

Then I set it back to 0, and tried again. Then noticed when I was at full draw, and my limbsaver rest was up, my arrow wasn't sitting centered on the rubber piece, it would sit off to the left (see picture below). When I manually put it center, it would be a pretty good shot (It will still require some fine tuning but was 100x better).

This is my first bow, and so it seems common sense how to adjust pins, and the sightbox, but with this Limbsaver drop away rest I'm at a loss.

I wonder if the rest may have gotten bumped, but when i try to move it with my fingers it doesn't move (to me, indicating it would have had to take a strong bump to knock it off course).

The angles do not look right to be on where it sits today. Would love to get yalls input and thoughts on how to determine if it is the rest, and if so how to fix it properly.