Broadhead tuning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Broadhead tuning

So I know for tuning a 3 bladed broadhead you align the blades of the head with the fletching's, my question is if you are using a two or four bladed broadhead what is the correct broadhead alignment in relation to the fletching's, assuming you are using 3 fletching's on the arrow? Any pointers?

I align one of the main blades (non-bleeder blade on a four-blade) with the cock vane. The reason why is so that all the arrows are as alike as possible because I am OCD like that. I doubt you will notice much of a difference no matter how you align the blades.

Comment

when your bow is properly tuned and your arrows spin true with bh i dont think blade-vane orientation matters. i havent aligned blades to vanes in a long time and my bh fly true out to 60 yds. i shoot 2, 3, and 4 blade fixed bh to the same point of impact as my field points. just my opinion and im no expert.

Comment

Your arrow weight, nock height, and arrow rest "windage" are going to be the keys to good broadhead tuning.

Comment

Thanks, I think I may need to refletch my arrows with the weak part of the spine in the same direction. I have tight field point groups but my broadhead flight seems to be pretty erratic at around 20+ yards, I only shoot to 20 yards but it still bothers me so I'm going to try everything I can find to correct this problem. And my bow is currently paper tuned.

Comment