Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Feedback needed

Hey all,
    I'm very new to bow hunting (just started last season) and am not sure if I'm doing all the right things. I bought a 2007 (I think?) PSE Brute from my neighbor to use as a "starter bow". Well I was pretty much immediately able to hit the target I was intending. However I wasn't told how to shoot. What knowledge I have has come from the fine folks of the green screen. With that being said, I have some questions:

I am wondering if the bow I have is the right draw length and weight for me. As I said earlier its a PSE Brute but I have no idea what DL or DW it is. I had my wife take this pic so I could see if I had proper form. Haha please forgive the sweat but this was right after it rained and it was more than humid.

I have a three pin Trophy Ridge sight, Octane stab, and this rest. I guess what I'm asking is this. Is there anything glaringly obvious that I need to change in my setup? When I shoot it seems like a LONG time between release and the arrow hitting the target. I never had the opportunity to release on anything last year so I'm worried that a deer would react faster than my arrow would get there. Thanks in advance for your input!!

You're better off than most.

You could lower the DL a little, but IMO, if you're shooting good and you're happy with it the way it is then no need in changing.

However, if you took the DL down a half inch, I bet your groups would shrink, you look slightly stretched out. Try to extend your bow arm? Get the half inch that way.

You want your release arm level or slightly raised elbow. Your knuckles on your release hand on your ear lobe.

Overall, your form is good. Hard to tell if your grip is relaxed. Make sure you don't death grip the bow. It's okay to wrap your fingers, just keep it loose!

Comment