Does Broadhead really matter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Does Broadhead really matter?

Let me just start by saying I'm new to bowhunting so be gentle. So I've leapt into a possible hunt this fall with my newly purchased bow. I've been shooting quite a bit and am increasing my confidence that I can make an accurate and lethal shot out to the 40yard range. However this has been only with field points. Now the hunt for my broadheads begins. After spending some time researching I've decided mechanical broadheads come with too many concerns that I don't want to contend with as a novice shooter. As far as fixed heads are concern, I can't really tell much of a difference from the absolute cheapest to the most expensive. They all seem to be just razor blades you can screw on a stick. My digging around has shown most people seem to be fiercely loyal to one brand, but usually not because of a problem with another brand. Is there any real problem brands out there? Any to avoid? Any real, meaningful reason to avoid a particular head? If it matters I'm shooting a PSE brute set at 65# with a 29'' draw. Arrows are Beman MFX 340. Any insight is appreciated.

Shane

Shane, you will see a difference in the way they fly. Some will spin faster, slower, hit high/low, left/right. The best thing I can say is get with someone and see if you can shoot a couple to see what set-up works best for you. Then with that knowledge you can go out and purchase some BH's.

I've tried several and personaly settled on two, Muzzy100 and plain Jane 100gr Thunderheads. They perform best with me set-up.

Do your homework on this! There's a huge difference.

~Michael

BTW, "Welcome to your new addidtion"

Comment