need some arrow help...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

need some arrow help...

I'm new to archery hunting. Bought a nice bow and I'm in the process of purchasing all the stuff I need to get started. I have a question about arrows. Is it better to purchase complete arrows or each piece separate? I never realized there were so many options when it comes to arrows. Is one brand better than the other? Do you have practice arrows and hunting arrows? If you hunt with a broadhead tip do you practice with it as well? Sorry in advance for all the questions. I'm trying to make sure I purchase the right arrow.

I plan on deer / turkey / hog hunting with my bow. Thx.

Would help if you put your set up draw length poundage..etc

Comment

Welcome to the addiction.

I'll start with a disclaimer, I'm no expert, not even all that great. But, I've recently been in your shoes. I got back into archery last summer after a 9 years hiatus. I experienced the same thing you are right now, technology has come a long way since I bowhunted 9 years ago.

There are as many arrows as there are archers, it seems. And every guy or gal has an opinion about why their arrow (or vane/feather, insert, nock, bow or broadheads) are the best and everything else is junk. Look at all the Rage vs. Brand X or Bow brand A vs. Bow brand B threads.

My best advice is to do Alot of research, Google is your friend. Find whatever brand that had good reviews and appeals to you and try 3 or 4 arrows. If you like them, stick with them. If not, try another brand until you find what you like.

The most important thing is to have a properly spined arrow. If you don't know what spine is, Google it and educate yourself. It is better to be overspined vs. underspined. I'll leave the speed vs. kinetic energy discussion for someone else.