latex vs enamel paint

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

latex vs enamel paint

What is the difference and which is better for interior painting?

Enamel yellows and smells much worse...painting drywall?

Comment

yes drywall, painting over 2nd or 3rd coat, not sure what paint was used

Comment

I am an ex-Sherwin Williams manager so here are my two cents if you want it. Enamel is not a paint it is a finish, ie: flat, satin (egg shell), semi-gloss, gloss. Your asking for the difference in latex vs oil base.

On Drywall/sheet-rock you want to always want to use latex. oil base will get hard brittle and crack on soft drywall surface. if you are doing doors,cabinets trim, hard surfaces oil base is the best for durability because of the hard surfaces.

However there are now high quality LATEX ENAMELS out there that are designed specifically for hard surfaces like doors, trim and cabinets. The key to the LATEX ENAMELS though is they usually only come in high sheen/gloss finishes, and can be a little harder to apply compared to a regular wall latex paint but still much easier than an oil base.

And on exterior always go latex unless you absolutely have to go oil base. Oil base weathers and ambers on the exterior about 5 times faster than latex.

Comment

Thanks SMR, latex it is

Comment

Originally posted by SMRaider View Post
            I am an ex-Sherwin Williams manager so here are my two cents if you want it. Enamel is not a paint it is a finish, ie: flat, satin (egg shell), semi-gloss, gloss. Your asking for the difference in latex vs oil base.

On Drywall/sheet-rock you want to always want to use latex. oil base will get hard brittle and crack on soft drywall surface. if you are doing doors,cabinets trim, hard surfaces oil base is the best for durability because of the hard surfaces.