Knocked Him Off His Feet!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Knocked Him Off His Feet!

After watching the slow travel of this buck to the feeder yesterday, I noticed not only did he have a really bad limp, but he also has a disfunctional jaw and goofy looking lower lip.

It took him right at an hour to come about 200 yrds to the feeder from where I first spotted him. Every so often, he'd have to stop and rest so he could make it a little further. I figured he must have been hit by a car due to the hard time he was having getting around.

His lower jaw was pretty banged up, making it hard for him to eat. I have to give him credit though, he stood under the feeder for better than 45 minutes trying to eat corn and occasionally browsing on weeds/foilage around the feeder area. I studied him patiently and decided that if he ever gave me the opportunity, I'd go ahead and take him.

He finally gave me that last little turn that I needed for a good broadside shot, so I came to full draw and started squeezing the trigger on my release. Without delay, the arrow zipped through the whisker biscuit and quickly closed the distance........fwipppp.....right over his back! I could not believe I shot over him!

And as you would expect, he took off from under the feeder. What really amazed me, was that he whirled around only 15yrds away from the feeder and started to come back. When he whirled around, he almost fell on his face due to the weak shoulder/leg.

He stopped about 5yrds from the feeder and just looked around for whatever it was that scared him so bad. As he stood there, I saw an opening that I figured I could sneak an arrow through, making it only a 15yrd shot.....so I loaded up for try #2.