Boar vs Grim Reaper (long read)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boar vs Grim Reaper (long read)

So last friday I go to try to put some pork in the freezer but miss piggy didn't want to show up for our date. I'm setting in my stand waiting and hoping but here comes a boar. I looked him over and he wasn't what I was looking for. He really didn't look that big and didn't have very good cutters. I started to draw back but stopped and thought I should wait to see if the sows would come in. Then I thought well if I don't get rid of him he will just eat all the corn and I've been wanting to try out my new grim reapers. So I wait until he is not looking directly at me and I draw. I lower the pin on my spot and let the arrow fly. I'm still new to hunting much less bow hunting so when I saw blood flying out his side every time his hooves hit the ground it was crazy. I mean he really painted the ground with blood. I've seen the commercials saying "watch them drop" but I thought BS but he didn't make it 40 yards. He busted into some thick brush, crashed around for a little bit and then made it back out of the brush onto a trail and nosedived into the ground. I didn’t get complete pass through but I cut him open and found that the reaper passed through both sides of the ribcage. I have pics of the rib pass through but didn’t know if they would be to graphic. The arrow was broke but the reaper was just fine with no bent blades but I will replace them anyway and shoot it at something else. I have the arrow caked in blood just as I found it (the boar was able to hang it on something and pull it out) but no pics of it but I can get them later on. I just hope the wife doesn’t find out it’s in the house with hog blood all over it. lol