Biggest and smallest critter weekend

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Biggest and smallest critter weekend

Went to Riverview ranch in Ada, OK with Rsatt(Ronnie and his grandson) for an awesome weekend.

We started in the stand with my son. Saturday morning. We had pigs in right away but the shots were 25 yds which is about max for my son. He had shots on three different pigs and missed. We then had to get after the buffalo since Keith had scheduled the skinner to be there at 9:30. We had a little over an hour. They were feeding about 75 yds from Ronnie and Trent's stand. We tried stalking up to them and they would not let us get less than 50 yards. I did not feel comfortable with a shot that far on them. They let us try 2 approaches on them and they were off. We found them again and posted a head of them. I studied charts of anatomy on them before I left and their hearts are low and to the front. I had a shot on her quartering away but she started to turn as I was shooting and it looked like it hit goodon the video but she was not slowing down. We tried to get close to them again but it was no dice and the skinner showed up and was waiting. We got on the 4 wheeler to try to find her and she was in the timber then the chase was on. It felt like 100 years ago and were on our trusty steed and had them on the run right passed Ronnie and Trent again at a different stand. Oops. We stalked up and placed one right behind the shoulder and she was off again. One more stalk had her broadside at 35 yards and layed one right in the pump station and she went down 80 yards later. That was a rush and fun.

We got in the stand that evening after tuning my sons bow and he hit a small pig. We had another stalk on a small pig in which my son put two arrows in her and we tracked her for 2 hours and she was gone. It was comical how she just stayed ahead of us in the thicket. We moved to a different stand and I hit a little pig thus winning the smallest pig competition.