Seen a lot of cell phone boosters on trucks lately

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Seen a lot of cell phone boosters on trucks lately

If there any particular reason for this? Are they better than they once were or has 5g screwed up coverage?

I don’t know if boosters are better but signal is worse than it’s ever been. I used to never run out of signal in North East Texas but frequently have dropped calls now with Verizon.

Comment

My understanding of 5G is that it’s multi-band and utilize significantly different frequencies for each band. There are three separate bands with the low band being similar in frequency to 4G… there is a mid band with higher frequency which enables faster speeds but less range… the higher band is even faster but has noticeably reduced range and will not penetrate structures/buildings as well as lower frequency stuff…

Don’t quote me on this as I am no expert or even stayed at the holiday in express. I do know that lower frequency radio waves tend to penetrate significantly better than high frequency radio waves…

Knowing the wide range on knowledgeable folks on TBH someone will be along soon and give a better explanation than I can.

Comment

I was thinking it must be a 5g thing. Really not sure I remember seeing more than a couple boosters I’ve the years but lately seen a bunch

Comment

What does one look like

I've seen them from homes but not cars

Comment

Originally posted by warrington View Post
            What does one look like

I've seen them from homes but not cars
            Typically looks like a pear burner sticking up from the bed.

Comment

Is there a pipeline project going on in the area? That's when we see them here.

Comment

Originally posted by outlook8 View Post