Need Ground Blind

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Ground Blind

I have been looking at getting either the Ameristep Doghouse or Cabela's Skyline Full-Draw 2X ground blind. I am new to hunting ground blinds and not sure which is better or if there is something else out there you guys would recommend over these choices. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have the doghouse. It is a little small to draw more than one direction. If
    you are certain your quarry will be seen and shot out of one certain window,
    I would recommend it. It is difficult to see in various directions, but it also
    keeps you secluded from wandering eyes. I am happy with mine.

Todd

Comment

I've hunted out of a trophy Den. It's plenty big enough to draw back in even two ppl. If you want to see it in action, i have a video of a doe i shot out of it posted here online. Before i shoot the doe there is vid of bucks in front of it too.

Comment

Stick with a blind that has a hub design you wont be dissappointed. Also make sure the height is as close to 60" or taller to clear you top wheel. Some of the shorter blinds force you to sit on the ground or a short chair that is uncomfortable.

Comment

I think for the money Eastman Outfitters' line of Carbon Venture blinds are the best deal going. I personally have a CV H2 blind and an Ameristep Doghouse blind. I've killed 2 deer out of the Doghouse this year, but it has turned pink, had a pole break, and a pole pocket tear out. Ameristep has said they will replace it when I mail it back to them. My H2 has had no such problems. The Doghouse is about 6" too small in my opinion.

Comment

Big Smith Wrote -
            Also make sure the height is as close to 60" or taller to clear you top wheel.
            I second that. 60" is almost too short in my opinion, especially if its something you will set up in front of a feeder. If you get one that is too short, just start digging.

Comment